Personal Brand Card Game

Create the basis for your personal brand

by working on five topics with 100 questions

What is "Personal Branding" and why this card game?

The term personal brand was first taken up in 1997 by the American Tom Peters. He described in the article The Brand Called You that companies have recognized the importance of brands. In times of individuality, each and every one of us has to be his own brand and become, so to speak, managing director of his Ich AG:? We are CEOs of our own companies: Me Inc. To be in business today, our most important job is to be head marketer for the brand called You? (Peters, 1997).
This is the opening passage of Nadine Nagl's master thesis,? Call me a brand? on the role of personal branding of female executives in Austria, in which I was allowed to participate and in which she found that personal branding is now considered essential for professional success, but that it is hardly practiced (Nadine Nagl,? Call me a brand ?, August 2018).
A circumstance that is certainly due to the complexity of the task and the lack of simple instructions.
?Easy? Personal branding is always there when it's authentic - and that's the hardest part of it. Because the question: WHO AM I? expresses itself more easily than it can be answered. Virginia Satir already said? I am many? ? and the popular philosopher Richard David Precht wrote a book about it? Who am I and if so, how many ??

The art of personal branding consists in peeling off the many facets of your personality and making them visible that is the most important for your career (!) And also the most stable in the long term.

It is therefore a complex process that starts with looking at your story, where you are from and what made you the person you are today and never ends. If personal branding is supposed to be authentic, then the brand grows with your personality.
The 100 questions from 5 subject areas should support you in laying the foundation for your personal brand strategy by using them to peel the special out of the many and become clearly recognizable.
So this card game is NOT YET the strategy, but a fundamental requirement for it.
This is how you play

Personal branding is a visual process
(A recommendation)

The questions in the 5 topics are arranged in so-called flip cards (see example) that only have numbers on the outside. When you click on it, the card turns over and reveals the question (s) and the background to the question. All you need to play is internet access, this web page and the login details that you provide after purchasing receive.

It makes sense (but is not a requirement) to reserve an area of 2 × 2 meters (wall or floor) for while you work.

Divide this area into four quadrants (topics 1-4) and a fifth central area (topic 5) that touches all of the other four.
Write down your answers legibly on different colored cards (a different color for each area) and place, stick or pin them in the respective field. You should be able to move them around and take them away. Not all questions will produce results that are relevant to you.
At the end, the results that are important for you should be in the respective field.
1 & 2

Question 1

Which people were important to you in your childhood and youth?

Question 2

If you were to attribute three characteristics to each of them: what would they be?

Background to the questions:
In terms of development history, the first years were formative for you. How the people on whom you were dependent treated you and the world was formative for your image of the world and of yourself in this world. They showed you what is possible and what is not possible. You have set yourself apart from them or you have emulated them. They encouraged or inhibited certain aspects of you. Your fight or your dance with them have made you into who you are today.
Play alone, in pairs or in a group

Four ways to work with these cards

Play alone

Option 1: quickly
Work through the questions in chronological order. Consider taking a day off between topics.
Variant 2: with leisure
Divide the cards into 5 themed piles and each day draw one card from each of the piles.
Visualize your answers where appropriate.

Playing in pairs (variant 3)

Work as in variant 2. The second person has the task of questioning your answers, possibly adding to them.
This can make the results even more dense and sustainable.

Playing in a group (variant 4)

Can be used as under point 2 or simply to get to know the others better. In that case, everyone draws one of the twenty questions of the same topic and answers it. Can be used in seminars (young people as well as adults) as well as in family or with friends.

The 5 subject areas

Your story
Where are you from?

Your story

? Personal branding is the sum of all the conclusions you have drawn in your life so far
and the answer to the question of where are you from and where you decided to go?
Your unique selling point
What makes you special

Your unique selling point

? Your unique selling point lies at the intersection between your greatest strengths and your greatest weaknesses.
Personal branding is the decision to live your edges.
Your distinguishing feature
How will you be recognized?

Your distinguishing feature

? Personal branding creates a visual guideline for others.
Personal branding is the decision to stand out and be visible.
Your communication style
How do you get in touch?

Your communication style

? Personal branding establishes a recognizable set of communicative actions.
Personal branding is the decision to reach different people and make your message relevant to them.
Your reason
What's your point

Your reason

? Personal branding needs a relevant reason.
Personal branding is more than a marketing strategy: it is the determination to make an impact.

Personal Brand Kartenspiel

Schaffe die Grundlage für deine Persönliche Marke

durch die Arbeit an fünf Themen mit 100 Fragen

Was ist "Personal Branding" und warum dieses Kartenspiel?

Der Begriff der Personal Brand wurde erstmals 1997 vom Amerikaner Tom Peters aufgegriffen. Er beschrieb im Artikel The Brand Called You, dass Unternehmen die Wichtigkeit von Marken erkannt haben. In Zeiten der Individualität müsse jede und jeder Einzelne seine eigene Marke sein und sozusagen Geschäftsführer seiner Ich AG werden: „We are CEOs of our own companies: Me Inc. To be in business today, our most important job is to be head marketer for the brand called You” (Peters, 1997).
Dies ist die Eröffnungspassage der Masterarbeit von Nadine Nagl, „Call me a brand“ über die Rolle des Personal Brandings weiblicher Führungskräfte in Österreich, an der ich teilhaben durfte und in der sie feststellte, dass Personal Branding heute zwar als essentiell für den beruflichen Erfolg gewertet, dass es aber kaum betrieben wird (Nadine Nagl, „Call me a brand“, August 2018).
Ein Umstand, der sicher auch der Komplexität der Aufgabe geschuldet ist und dem Fehlen einfacher Anleitungen.
„Einfach“ ist Personal Branding immer dann, wenn es authentisch ist  – und genau das ist der schwierigste Teil daran. Denn die Frage „WER BIN ICH?“ spricht sich leichter aus als sie zu beantworten ist. Virginia Satir hat schon gesagt „Ich bin Viele“ – und der Populärphilosoph Richard David Precht hat ein Buch dazu geschrieben „Wer bin ich und wenn ja, wieviele?“

Die Kunst von Personal Branding besteht darin, aus den vielen Facetten deiner Persönlichkeit jene herauszuschälen und sichtbar zu machen, die für deine Karriere (!) die Wichtigste und außerdem langfristig Beständigste ist.

Es ist daher ein komplexer Prozess, der damit beginnt, auf deine Geschichte zu blicken, woher du kommst und was dich zu der Person gemacht hat, die du heute bist und endet nie. Wenn Personal Branding authentisch sein soll, dann wächst die Marke mit deiner Persönlichkeit.
Die 100 Fragen aus 5 Themengebieten sollen dich dabei unterstützen, das Fundament für deine Personal Brand Strategie zu legen indem du mit ihrer Hilfe das Besondere aus dem Vielen herausschälst und eindeutig erkennbar wirst.
Dieses Kartenspiel ist also NOCH NICHT die Strategie, aber eine fundamentale Voraussetzung dafür.
So spielst du

Personal Branding ist ein visueller Prozess
(Eine Empfehlung)

Die Fragen in den 5 Themen sind in sogenannten Flip-Cards (siehe Beispiel) angeordnet, die von außen nur Nummern tragen. Wenn du draufklickst, dreht sich die Karte um und gibt die Frage(n) und den Hintergrund zur Frage preis. Alles, was du zum Spielen brauchst, ist einen Internet-Zugang, diese Web-Page und die Login-Daten, die du nach dem Kauf erhältst.

Es macht Sinn (ist aber keine Voraussetzung), dir eine Fläche von 2×2 Metern (Wand oder Boden) dafür zu reservieren, während du arbeitest.

Teile diese Fläche in vier Quadranten (Themen 1-4) und eine fünfte Mittelfläche (Thema 5), die alle anderen vier berührt.
Notiere deine Antworten gut leserlich auf verschiedenfarbigen Kärtchen (für jeden Bereich eine andere Farbe) und lege, klebe oder pinne sie im jeweiligen Feld an. Du solltest sie verschieben und wegnehmen können. Nicht alle Fragen werden für dich relevante Ergebnisse zeitigen.
Am Schluss sollten die für dich wesentlichen Ergebnisse im jeweiligen Feld stehen.
1 & 2

Frage 1

Welche Personen waren in deiner Kindheit und Jugend für dich von Bedeutung?

Frage 2

Wenn du jeder davon drei Eigenschaften zuschreiben solltest: welche sind diese?

Hintergrund der Fragen:
Entwicklungsgeschichtlich waren die ersten Jahre für dich prägend. Wie die Menschen, von denen du abhängig warst, mit dir und der Welt umgegangen sind, war prägend für dein Bild der Welt und von dir selbst in dieser Welt. Sie haben dir gezeigt, was möglich ist oder was nicht möglich ist. Du hast dich gegen sie abgegrenzt oder hast ihnen nachgeeifert. Sie haben bestimmte Seiten an dir gefördert oder gehemmt. Dein Kampf oder dein Tanz mit ihnen haben dich maßgeblich zu der Person gemacht, die du heute bist.
Allein, zu zweit oder in der Gruppe spielen

Vier Varianten, um mit diesen Karten zu arbeiten

Allein spielen

Variante 1: zügig
Arbeite die Fragen chronologisch ab. Mache eventuell einen Tag Pause zwischen den Themen.
Variante 2: mit Muße
Teile die Karten in 5 Themenstöße und ziehe täglich jeweils eine Karte von jedem der Stöße.
Visualisiere deine Antworten, wo sinnvoll. (Beispiele:www.charisma-concept.com)

Zu zweit spielen (Variante 3)

Arbeite dabei wie in Variante 2. Die zweite Person hat die Aufgabe, deine Antworten zu hinterfragen, ev. zu ergänzen.
Die Ergebnisse können dadurch noch dichter und nachhaltiger werden.

In der Gruppe spielen (Variante 4)

Einsetzbar wie unter Pkt. 2 oder einfach um die anderen besser kennenzulernen. Jeder zieht eine Frage im selben Thema (optimal: 1, 5) und beantwortet diese. Einsetzbar im Seminarbereich (Jugendliche wie Erwachsene) genauso wie in der Familie oder mit Freunden.

Die 5 Themenfelder

Deine Geschichte
Woher kommst du?

Deine Geschichte

„Personal Branding ist die Summe der Schlussfolgerungen, die du bisher in deinem Leben gezogen hast
und die Antwort auf die Frage, woher du kommst und wohin du entschieden hast zu gehen.“
Dein Alleinstellungsmerkmal
Was macht dich besonders?

Dein Alleinstellungsmerkmal

„Dein Alleinstellungsmerkmal liegt im Schnittpunkt zwischen deinen größten Stärken und deinen größten Schwächen.
Personal Branding ist die Entscheidung, deine Kanten zu leben.“
Dein Erkennungsmerkmal
Woran wird man dich erkennen?

Dein Zeichen

„Personal Branding kreiert eine visuelle Leitlinie für andere.
Personal Branding ist die Entscheidung, sich abzuheben und sichtbar zu werden.“
Dein Kommunikationsstil
Wie nimmst du Verbindung auf?

Dein Kommunikationsstil

„Personal Branding etabliert ein wiedererkennbares Set an kommunikativen Handlungen.
Personal Branding ist die Entscheidung, unterschiedliche Menschen erreichen zu wollen und deine Botschaft für sie relevant zu machen.“
Dein Grund
Was ist dein Sinn?

Dein Grund

„Personal Branding braucht einen relevanten Grund.
Personal Branding ist mehr als eine Marketingstrategie: es ist der Entschluss, Einfluss zu nehmen.“